When I reflect back on my high school years, I am sometimes reminded of three people I once knew.  Now, I’m not going to name them for security reasons, but there was something about these three (even though they weren’t close to one another) that really, oh I don’t know, “irked” me.  Now don’t get me wrong, these people were very polite people.  But somehow, I think that was part of the problem.  They were just nice.  That’s it.  They never seemed to have any particular interests – never really loved nor hated anything in particular.  That bugs me.  When I look at them, I also look at some of the people I admire, such as my best friend or even my parents.  They were all passionate people who had a fire in their soul that was very hard to dim out.  They were different; they were inspirational.  And now I look at “Hey Arnold!” and see more reason to love it.  The kids were so full of life.  Including Arnold and especially Helga.  They had spunk.  They all had their hobbies which they did for their personal enjoyment – as if to drink from the glass of life.  To them, life wasn’t just something to do; it was something to experience and, although life (then and now) is face paced, they actually took the time to smell the flowers and reflect back upon it.  That’s passion.

Egg Story

I know Helga is one of the more interesting characters, but hey, don’t leave Arnold out.  He’s actually one of my favourite characters, odd enough as it is.  The kid can be so dull sometimes (I mean, look at his voice.  It isn’t one of the most animated voices out there in the history of cartoons…) but still, I think he has great potential.  I actually believe he has a lot of spunk and potential stored within himself, but he doesn’t let it out all at once.  And this is where we flashback to some of the old episodes, such as “Dinner for Four” or “Egg Story”, where Arnold actually has the spirit to play along with Helga (i.e. at the end of the episodes).  I believe he’s full of life, but unlike others, he lets them out in increments instead.  Nonetheless, the passion is still there.  And one of his passions is doing the right thing.  Like I once said in the last post, he’s the little bright light in the dark room.  Circumstances, no matter how negative, don’t seem to have an effect on him.  He’s practically like that little choo-choo train that thinks he can – and he can.  He draws out his sense of right or wrong from, yes, his passion.  It’s what gives him the strength to fight against all odds, like the tearing down of the Circle Theatre, the looming downfall of Mighty Pete the tree, and Scheck’s menacing corporation.  It’s this passion of his that makes Arnold such the admirable character that he is.

Hey Arnold! The Movie

Like I said before, passionate people are inspirational, and that’s where Helga comes in.  Her poetry is always bursting with emotion, specifically the conflicting feelings of love/hate towards Arnold, and to a lower/subtle/underground degree, the frustration she feels towards the family.  Sometimes when Helga is spewing out her conflicting emotions for Arnold, it is as if she wants to scream at Arnold’s face, “Why won’t you love me?!”  And it’s not only Arnold she is addressing, it is also her family except instead of saying “Why don’t you love me,” it’s more like, “Why don’t you give me the attention that I need?”  And it’s this passion – this drive for love and affection – that can make Helga jerk at our heartstrings.  It’s an emotion that many of us can relate to, which makes her such a popular character.

Arnold Visits Arnie

Everyone should have their unique passions.  That’s what makes each individual, like Mr. Simmons says, a “special” person.  It’s something that gives our lives meaning and gives us reasons for to never trade certain things in our lives for all the riches in the world.  This is one of the reasons why “Hey Arnold!” should be loved, for we can all gain a little inspiration from these colourful characters.

